I’m From Spoken Word

I’m from Pensacola way, where the car being stolen was always a possibility.
I’m from panorama hills, where the drive to the private golf course was always brightening.
I’m from the small 1 bedroom my grandfather and his family lived, in their village.
I’m from the 16th birthday spent in lower Manhattan.
I’m from the mother who ate her dinner out of ketchup packets while the sirens roared from the fighting above.
I’m from the weekly takeout dinners from wherever I please.
From the built in speakers blaring music from above.
I’m from the father who had a son at age 21, who was out 21 hours of the day balancing work and university. For me
I’m from the family who never took no as an answer.
From the family who turned their dads dream into a very real reality.
From the family who’s sons stood by their fathers through all.
I’m from, the story, that life is how you make it, take it how it comes, and make the best of where you’re from.

I myself,
I am a storm,
Seemingly unpredictable and rogue, coasting through life with a bouldering nature
Yet carefully calculated and plotted, as if everything is a move in a game
Coming into my path you will be initially cautious
Being loud, confrontational and confident has that effect on people
IF however,
You indulge my charismatic attitude
And allow my essence to cover your being like rain
Then, welcome to the romantic journey

As is any journey when you romanticize rain
do not be fearful of my reign-I just want to water the crops, essentially provide a purpose, so that we can all eat together, no more we starve
I am everything, and yet I am nothing
I am a star shining bright for all to see but when you reach for me, you’ll see, I’m already gone
I’m am a simple blip in history
A means to an end
The product of the system
Pushed until i break
A system where the double standards are prevalent for each of my peers
Residing in a setting where I’m bantered by my superiors for having earrings and tattoos
Living in a society where we want to seek equality amongst all but end up hurting
I recently  spent 30 minutes conversing, sorry, not conversing
Having life repeat itself
Where my ideals and my opinion were shut down
Where the cuffs of my pants define me more than the cuffs of my character because I wanted to express myself
But I was shut down.
Where the title “Student athlete” next to my name  means dumb jock and the perception that I cannot be the next change is smothered around me until I cannot gasp for air
The confident kid who spends 10 minutes doing his hair in the morning will spend the next 10 hours just thinking, if only they knew me
If only they knew
If only they knew past the surface
If only they wanted to crack through the surface ice and see the water beneath wasn’t cold
Driving with the windows down rapping along with type
Don’t judge me until you know me. Don’t underestimate me until you challenge me. And don’t talk about me until you talk to me
But how can you talk to me and learn about me if I don’t even know who i am
Who am I
Gorgeous young man, stellar body, philanthropist attitude. Lover boy
Misunderstood, lazy, arrogant, asshole
Proud continuance of the family name
Disappointment to those who love me
I’m On the brink of breaking through society and soaring
Fulfilling my given name of lion warrior and roaring
I’m On the brink of breaking through my locker with my fist when  I’m perceived not good enough
You don’t think I can do something please, call my bluff
My conscious could be as clean as the fresh spring water dripping through waterfalls
With scars on my heart as jagged as the rocks the water hits
I’m from- this society that I will never conquer
I’m from -This society that will eat me up and spit me out
I am a piece of a puzzle
A puzzle
I am a puzzle.
One that no one will solve
And no one can break
Because I am the creator of it
How can you pick up apart the lyrics to a song that my life wrote
Like a blind man shaping clay
Following his heart and not worried about what people will say.
I am, the storm, the rain, the sun, and moon
The blades of grass, the pebbles on the floor , the droplets in the puddle
I am, just, finding my way
So tell me,
Who are you ?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *